5. Mike Kelley

“One always has to hide one’s true desires and beliefs behind a façade of socially acceptable lies.”

Honorary fifth artist. No, he’s not actually new to me, but I don’t care.  More on him later; some slides for now….I kind of want to co-opt a little of his “materialist maximalism” for this project, but not as…maximally. I’ve also always liked his utilization of everyday/personal objects, some of which are demonstrative of collective neuroses or which examine social dysfunction that we collectively ignore.

kelley Memory-Ware-Flat-20001-458x640

Kelley, “Memory Ware Flats”

kelley memory ware flats

Kelley, “Memory Ware Flats” (detail)

kelley endless morphing flow of common decorative motifs

Kelley, “Endless Morphing Flow of Common Decorative Motifs”

cookie-jar

Kelley, “Let’s Talk”

kelley_mooner_615

Kelley, “Mooner”

Kelley Catholic Birdhouse

Kelley, “Catholic Birdhouse”

(On Christianity: “It’s just hateful, mean-spirited and hateful, and I don’t want any part of it.” Ah, the joys of growing up in a religious household. I don’t always agree with the man, but I’ll be damned if this didn’t make me smile.)

Leave a comment